VALVE COVER GASKET REPLACEMENT

Moderators: 330GT, abrent

matt

VALVE COVER GASKET REPLACEMENT

Post by matt »

I am considering replacing the valve cover gaskets on my V12 275 because of oil leaks.I can also see leaks between the valve covers and timing chain cover. I am mot a mechanic but think I can tackle this one. Any imput would be greatly appreciated.I have been told that a rubber o ring can be placed in the timing chain/valve cover area and secured by shims. While the covers are off, I want to power coat them in the black crinkle finish. Thank you. matt
matt

Re: VALVE COVER GASKET REPLACEMENT

Post by matt »

matt wrote:I am considering replacing the valve cover gaskets on my V12 275 because of oil leaks.I can also see leaks between the valve covers and timing chain cover. I am not a mechanic but think I can tackle this one. Any input would be greatly appreciated.I have been told that a rubber o ring can be placed in the timing chain/valve cover area and secured by shims. While the covers are off, I want to powder coat them in the black crinkle finish. Thank you. matt
tyang

Post by tyang »

Hi Matt,

Another thing to consider, is to check for flatness of the mating surfaces where the valve cover meets the head. Leaks can also come from warped covers when some overzealous mechanic tried to tighten the covers down. Get a good straight edge, and see if the surfaces mate up. If they don't, find a large flat surface, tape some large sheets of sandpaper down, and start taking away material until the valve covers are flat.

Try not to use too much RTV to seal the gaskets, as the stuff the squeezes out and eventually works its way into the oil passageways and clogs things up, and you don't want that!

Good luck!

Tom
'63 330 America #5053
fest

go easy

Post by fest »

I do not know if the 275 uses O-Rings
between the Valve Cover and the Timing Case
but
I am under the impression
that the O-Rings between the Valve Covers
and the Timing Case
cannot be replaced